From Xanga to WordPress

So here I am.

Well, I’m a Xangan (Xangian?) and in six weeks Xanga is going 100% pay or it will shut down completely. Well, I’m not paying for it and so I am one in many leaving in a max exodus of bloggers. The difference is that I turned for one last look at Xanga’s burning pyre and gave it the finger. I don’t know the behind the scenes reason for Xanga suddenly demanding a member’s fee when they had been free for over a decade. I say that demanding payment will ensure it’s demise. Personally, I just think they’re trying to pad their coffers a bit…hence the metaphorical finger.

So, who am I and what can you expect from my blogs?

I’ll probably slip up and give my real name eventually, especially if I trust you, but for now you can call me Saoirse. It’s pronounce ‘Seer-sha’ and it’s an Irish name meaning “freedom”. You can figure out the significance of that I’m sure. I’m 26 years old and a California native. I reside on the central coast and in a few weeks I’ll have my BA in Early Childhood Development. That’s when “true” adulthood will activate in my brain. I get to finally have a career and I’m excited about it.

So…what can you expect?

Well, the first thing is that I swear a lot and it’s not from a lack of a proper vocabulary and just a “filler”…it’s more like a habit from a family that swears semi-frequently in a very casual manner. Slowly trying to rein in that bad habit since I’ll be around little kids all the time.

Second is that I LOVE to talk about hot button issues. I’m very interested in the “taboo” stuff like politics, religion, culture, race, gender, sexual orientation and all that stuff. I’m looking to discuss these things, not fight about them … but most people tend not to be mature enough to sit down like adults and talk about their differences. If people find what I’m writing offensive they’ve usually just misunderstood me or rather I didn’t interpret what I think or feel in an accurate way.** I welcome discourse between two differently minded individuals (or more) but if people prove to be ignorant fucks with the intelligence of a wet napkin I’ll find them hard to stomach. As Mark Twain said…”Good breeding consists of concealing how much we think of ourselves and how little we think of the other person” I need to work on that whole good breeding thing. I’m getting there though.

Not that I think a great deal about myself. That is the third thing…

You may see me get a little self-loath-y at times. I battle depression and some of it really isn’t my fault.The following things are just chemically fucked up:

  • Genetics on both sides (yay)
  • Epilepsy (it messes with your head a bit.)
  • Certain…traumatic events that I’m forever trying to work through.

Eh, I guess the only thing I can think of are my hobbies

  • Video Games
  • History
  • Mythology
  • Irish stuff
  • Fantasy
  • Sci-Fi
  • Nature
  • Philosophy
  • OBOD
  • Bunch of other stuff. (I’m feeling lazy at this point).
  • Guitar (not any good because I don’t practice but when I get into the groove I love it)

I guess that’s it for now. I’m hoping I’ll find a lot of my old Xanga buddies here and this can be my new e-home.

** Any comparisons to animals, trees, or stuff like that is a way of trying to construct a loose picture of how I think things. It does not mean I value people on the level of animals, trues or stuff like that. I value animals, trees and stuff more highly than most human beings anyway.

4 thoughts on “From Xanga to WordPress

  1. HA! I’ve been using wordpress for business for a looooooooooooooooong time, wait until you see the power of it!

    http://www.nepaiphonerepair.com

Leave a Reply

