Religion. Offensive. Whatever.

I’ve moved away from organized religion. I’ve done so because it’s organized. There are rules that tell you what you should think about certain things and how to behave. The spirit should be unbridled and full of passion. Your soul cannot be free while in psychological bondage.

I’m not a disbeliever, nor am I unsure if there is something out there. I just think organized religion is a crock of shit designed to ease people into a set behavior without ever learning to question why they do things or why they are supposed to think the things they think. 

I don’t believe in hell, but I would like to believe in heaven. I won’t say I believe in either though. I just like the idea of something nice waiting for good people…then again I know a lot of so called ‘good people’ that I can’t stand and being stuck with them for eternity is no heaven…But over all I like the concept of rebirth the best. Who doesn’t like second chances?

I dislike the concept that a church/mosque/synagogue/whatever built by man is “holier” than anything that occurs in nature. That religion is supposed to make more sense than science. The earth is our home. Supposedly created by God, right? Why do so many treat her with disrespect, then? Shouldn’t earth be his/her/its original temple? Explain that to me.

Another issue I have with most organized religions is the subservient manner in which they place my sex. The limitations of my sex. What I have a right to do with my body. What I have a right to do with my mind. It’s true that in certain cultures that are more…shall we say progressive…modern beliefs over come religious ones but it’s still there in their book of holy. I’ve read the bible. Cover to cover. I cannot believe these things must apply to humanity regardless of time and culture. 

Perhaps the biggest thing that turns my stomach is that many religions condemn those “to hell” who don’t talk and think like they do. That right there is enough for me. Whatever is out there, whoever is out there has given us minds to figure out things for ourselves. We shouldn’t disappoint it.

Oh, and one more thing…killing each other over who has the better “imaginary friend?” Disguising political gain as religious propaganda? Thinking is better than believing. 

**I don’t look down on others who belong to these religions or think they are foolish. It works for them and that’s that. However, the deal breaker is when they try to force their beliefs/opinions on others.**

**This is a generalized statement. Hence the qualifiers “many” or “most.”**

12 thoughts on “Religion. Offensive. Whatever.

  1. thefrogster says:

    I’m a Christian but I believe you have the right to believe what you feel is right to you.

  2. Denton Perry says:

    My goodness … you have been busy tonight (your time). This a good post and I have some thoughts for you here – http://gaijinwords.wordpress.com/2008/11/21/the-origin-of-confusion/

    and – http://gaijinwords.wordpress.com/2010/02/21/keeping-the-faith/

  3. lifeofmoderation says:

    I was raised in a strict Christian home. I was 14 when I asked my best friend at the time “what if we’re wrong?” She replied that I needed to pray for faith or something like that. I got the gist..I wasn’t supposed to ask questions. If I asked questions, there was obviously something wrong with my relationship with god (It still takes effort to put a little g there instead of a big one.).

    I identified as an agnostic for many years as I dealt with the fear of hell that had been so deeply ingrained into me.

    I now identify as an atheist. It’s depressing to think that there’s nothing after this life, but it also can be nice. I just have to make the most of this life that I have and then it’s done. I go back into the earth and more people and living things are born after me.

    • I’ve heard many stories that are similar to that. I’ve never considered myself agnostic or atheist. I’m neither sure than nothing is there or unsure. Neither apply. I’ve had what I believe are some spiritual experiences so I definitely think that something is there but I’m not going to label it or make up rules for it.

  4. I’m also someone who left the church–primarily because it made me terribly unhappy–and progressively becoming an atheist over the course of six years.

    I too had spiritual experiences, but I’ve since then learned how easily us humans are fooled. Michael Shermer offers some great insights into this.

    I enjoyed your post.

Leave a Reply

