Nothing has all the answers. Sorry.

No religion has all the answers and nothing ever will. The church is not holy because it was built by man. A grove of trees should be and in my opinion are more holy because it’s a part of nature. You could call a grove of oaks the church of God — that is if you believe in a deity.

Hot button issues like abortion and homosexuality is not something God takes sides on. That is something man takes sides on. When a posse kills a doctor that performs abortions or beats up a gay person and leaves them to die that is not something God condones.

The bible or any other holy book says a lot of things but never very clearly and is open to interpretation and as a result has given us some very terrible, violent results. These are books that are over 2,000 years old and as any history book will show you…cultures evolve. Today’s peoples share little in common intellectually or spiritually with the people who lived 2,000 years ago..even though some people would like to believe otherwise. You know who you are. Do you really want to believe these preconceived notions of these so called “hot button issues” when these people do nothing to harm you? Be smart and give this a little thought because that is honestly all it takes. Do you really want to have a mindset that is stuck 2,000 years in the past? I don’t.

People should not pour their self-appointed values and beliefs into religion because a belief with religious overtones have caused war, poverty, murder, both physical and emotional pain, exclusion and distrust among may other negative nouns. Would a God that is all loving want this? Would he want you to think you are better than others while all the while claiming that the chaff are equal to you and want to help them? Go walk around in a park and hand out loafs of bread to people, we’ll see how many of them want your virtuous help.

To make it clear, I’m not saying religion is false; I’m just saying don’t make it anything more than it should be or else you’ll corrupt the purity of what faith really is. If you choose to recognize that “divine spark” then make it personal between you and that spark. Make it private. Christians will tell you over and over again to develop your relationship with God…and then they want you to talk about it with them so they can grade that relationship like a term paper. As anyone in a long term relationship will tell you…it’s very complicating. Could you sum up a relationship you’ve had of five years or (imagine 20+ years!) more in a few sentences? Now apply that to something that is beyond mortal comprehension. Impossible. It’s personal and it’s quiet.

I’m ashamed that when I was a teenager I was fooled into thinking there was only one way of thinking — their way. I couldn’t understand why my beliefs were different from what I was supposed to believe in. I snapped out of it at age 15 but it still shames me that I was ever that foolish. I don’t deny what I feel and I’ve interpreted it in my own way. So should you. An organization is for the benefit of people who need to have a flock/pack/whatever mentality. We don’t all need that.

Some people may not even feel that spark and that’s okay too. I don’t feel that way so I won’t pretend like I can comment on it.

8 thoughts on “Nothing has all the answers. Sorry.

  1. Denton Perry says:

    Right on! Sounds like me talking, but I was 17 when that happened. 😀

  2. M says:

    How do you know that God doesn’t take sides on abortion or homosexuality? You should rather say that in your opinion he doesn’t. I think he does.

    [When a posse kills a doctor that performs abortions or beats up a gay person and leaves them to die that is not something God condones.]

    I agree with that.

    [The bible or any other holy book says a lot of things but never very clearly and is open to interpretation and as a result has given us some very terrible, violent results.]

    Again, that’s your opinion that it’s not clear. Because it has given some terrible results doesn’t conclude that it’s not clear and doesn’t have a correct interpretation.

    [To make it clear, I’m not saying religion is false; I’m just saying don’t make it anything more than it should be or else you’ll corrupt the purity of what faith really is.]

    I’m glad you said that. Jesus said – “By your fruits they shall know you.”

    [If you choose to recognize that “divine spark” then make it personal between you and that spark. Make it private.]

    I disagree with that. Jesus and the bible tells Christians to evangelize. However, I don’t believe that means to force our beliefs on anyone. You have the right to say that you’re not interested in hearing about the gospel and I would respect your wishes.

    • I never claimed to know. That’s the difference. =)
      I just don’t think God is as petty as human beings.
      A book saying something about religion doesn’t mean anything to me because man wrote it. Someone saying that Jesus wants and doesn’t want us to make everyone think like Christians doesn’t have any effect on me. That implies I’d have to be Christian. All I can do is form my own ideas and not let them become beliefs. It’s not just my opinion that the bible is unclear. People have killed each other over their interpretation for hundreds of years. Not just something I’m “confused” about.

      You’re welcome to disagree but my mind won’t be swayed on this. I’ve grown up in the church way too long to ever go back lol.

      • M says:

        [I never claimed to know. That’s the difference. =) ]

        Ok. It just seemed like you were making definitive statements. 😉 I’m not exactly sure what you mean by God not being as petty as humans. Humans think it’s wrong to murder someone and so does God. Is God being petty? So how do you know that God isn’t as petty about homosexuality and abortion? See? That sounds like another definitive statement.

        [A book saying something about religion doesn’t mean anything to me because man wrote it.]

        And that’s ok. But it does mean a lot to me and many others.

        [All I can do is form my own ideas and not let them become beliefs.]

        Right, I agree.

        [ It’s not just my opinion that the bible is unclear.]

        It is though. My opinion is that it’s clear. And as I’ve already stated, because people have killed each other does not conclude it’s unclear. If we have a law that says we can only drive 65 mph and you decide to go 80, the law isn’t unclear. You just made the decision to break it.

        I know I won’t change your mind. You wrote a post and I gave my opinion on it. Unless you were just looking for every one to agree with you and not give a differing opinion. I hope that’s not the case.

      • Funny you mention that, I was just vapidly wishing for people to agree with me…

        Wait, no. I didn’t. That is a definitive statement.

        You might have missed the part when I said you’re welcome to disagree. That invitation is extended for as long as I’m allowed to think what I think.

        It doesn’t matter how you take apart what I’ve written, it doesn’t change it or make it more true or less true. I’m allowed to piece stuff together and form ideas, same as you. Having an idea isn’t the same as a definitive statement. Why can’t you just accept how I feel about things without trying to rip it apart? Christians are very sure of how right they are, and that’s fine, but understand many people don’t buy it and their lives are fine without a holy book. It’s great that the bible makes so much sense to you, but if you look at history people have interpreted it in very different ways and sometimes it had really bad results, so no, it isn’t just MY opinion. Also, others BUY their bullshit and do bad crap in their name thinking they are actually doing it in God’s. Take the crusades. Prime example. You think I’m the only one that doesn’t get it yet everyone else does. It isn’t just me. Read around.

        My idea is my own and I’m not saying I’m right and you’re wrong, it’s a difference of belief…or the lack of one, I suppose, in my case. I do not trust organized religion and I never will. I was very active in different churches growing up and could never get why people walked around with a holier than thou disposition and were more intolerant of others than Christ was himself. The difference between what I think and people that commit to a religion is that I have ideas and it can be changed. At no point does it become a belief.

        Besides, if a God is as petty as humans are with homosexuality, women’s rights, racial discrimination (all of which bigots used the bible for) then it’s not a God worth praising. Cultures give a spin on different subjects and Christianity is no less immune to different cultures taking a different view on it. If the bible is so clear then why does Christianity have so many branches?

        Here is something you can call definitive. Nothing on earth will have ALL the answers, even if we want to believe otherwise. When something unexplainable happens it’s an act of God. In the world of science when something is unexplainable they say “I don’t know” and try to crack the mystery. An act of God or “I don’t know” doesn’t provide us with answers. Some things will always be a mystery while we’re alive. You know, now that I actually think about it,I like that. I like the mystery.

        Look, I don’t want to bash your religion or anyone’s. I won’t lie, I often feel intolerant towards evangelists, but not Christians as a whole. I only do so because they try to push their beliefs on others. People having faith as a whole isn’t something I take issue with. It’s the meddling I find offensive. It’s the judgments. It’s the un-Christ like behavior that so many Christians that I’ve met, in different countries, in different states…, their behavior is what has me disillusioned with organized religion. You may say those people just sucked and didn’t behave like true Christians. That holds water. There are just so many of them. That is what has me convinced that it’s not for me.

        I’m not trying to push my ideas on you. I’m just not buying organized faith.

        I was enjoying this conversation until you implied that I only wanted people to agree with me.

      • M says:

        Ok, thanks. Have a nice night.

      • I don’t know… There are some places in the Bible where it’s clearly stated that the writers did not put everything in there, and that there are questions that it doesn’t have the answer to. See: Matthew 24:36 and the epilogue for John’s gospel. Jesus Himself lines out something that is not known to the Bible writers, and John explains that a lot of things are left out of his chronicling.

        The Bible is a guidebook. As a Christian, I, and we, believe that the Bible is THE guidebook. However, if we start thinking it has all the answers, we are in essence worshiping the words instead of the one who inspired them. We are given reason to be able to reason this for ourselves, and as such understand better. What else is free will for?

      • Someone said something kind of cool about the bible once.

        (B)asic
        (I)nstructions
        (B)efore
        (L)eaving
        (E)arth

        I like that. It’s not something that is supposed to weigh on you and make you look at others in a certain way. It’s supposed to help you if you’re lost. It’s not supposed to help you form judgments.

Leave a Reply

