Kids today have no standards.

Kids today have no standards.

I hate to be that old person griping about the young’ins and their idiocy but come the fuck on.

My major beef is with the “celebrities” they look up to. These people seem to believe they are re-inventing music by combining pop, techno, hip-hop and maybe…maybe rock. They’ve bastardized music and turned it into a complete “waaaa-no-one-understands-me-so-fuck-you-I’m-gonna-do-what-I-want-because-I’m-young” genre. I doubt these people could even be “musicians” without a synthesizer. Where is the talent if a computer has to improve your voice? The materialism and style is what really gets me though…it’s just all…so fake. There is no depth…no soul to their music or in how they present themselves.

Can someone please explain to me why all the “cool kids”** are now sporting Vanilla Ice hair? Maybe if parents instilled their kids with higher standards when they were younger we’d avoid turning these polarizing figures into “rock stars” (and I use that word very, very generously). These people only stay famous if you give them money.

If people want to bring the 80’s back bring back the music, but leave the style behind.

Prime examples of shitty taste include Miley Cyrus and Justin Beiber.

**Yeah, if cool = materialistic douche

6 thoughts on “Kids today have no standards.

  1. erikamsteele says:

    I like the hair on Miley, but not so much Vanilla Ice or Justin Beiber.

    You are being far to generous when you call Miley and Justin rock stars. They are pop stars at best.

  2. LoveIn102 says:

    I’m going to use teen idol popstarts as examples for my kids. “now pay attention guys: this is what happens when you do drugs.” none of them may not be on them, but honestly, how can you tell the difference?

    • Depends on which drug! Have you noticed that Justin Beiber has slowly been tattooing his body all over? Reminds me of Vanilla Ice when his career started to slack (look at current photos of him, full sleeves and everything) you know, he can slap as much ink on as he wants but he’ll still look like a girl. Where other men see tattoos as a form of self expression these two seem to have a more insecure reason. “Look folks! I’M A MAN! SEE! I LOOK TOUGH!”

      I’m admittedly very judgmental about this stuff though. *Darth Vadar Voice* I find their lack of soul disturbing

Leave a Reply

