Gotta hate it when they don’t practice what they preach.

I’ve always found it hypocritical that Christianity appears in the judicial system considering the US has no official religion, though clearly the culture has been influenced by it. Stuff like swearing on the bible or the 10 commandments statue outside that courthouse is something I disagree with though. It’s gotten away with when technically it shouldn’t be, not if the country is going to uphold what it preaches. lolpun.

depo

I don’t think very many Americans mind though since 78% of the population considers themselves to be Christian. I kinda think those numbers are massaged quite a bit though. I think a bunch of people believe in something and due to culture think it’s a Christian God, even if they themselves aren’t a practicing Christian. This is what I’ve seen in my own life, anyway. I hardly have a statistic for that.

I suppose in the removal of things such as the bible and the 10 commandments statue there would be more supporters of keeping it than protesters on the matter.

0301-ACOMMANDMENTS-600_full_600

If one refuses to swear on the bible I wonder what else would be sacred enough to swear on…and what about atheists? I wonder if they keep sacred texts of other religions handy for people who aren’t Christians…I kinda doubt it. I know there was a controversy of Muslims wanting to swear on the Koran awhile back. It’s that sort of ignorant shit that gets people protesting the influence of Christianity on the judicial system.

The judicial system is influenced by a single religion more than it has any right to be; a recent example is that there was this news story a little while ago where the courts forced this woman to change the name of her child from Messiah, claiming that Jesus was the only one who deserves that title/name. Never mind that he’s not the messiah to a great many people and certain cultures, such as Spanish/Latin cultures, find nothing wrong with naming their children Jesus (hey-soose)

po25rebogk

I can’t think of anything universally sacred enough to swear on though. Maybe your life? Either way, it doesn’t keep people from lying, it’s only supposed to psychologically influence you into telling the truth.

religion-politics

7 thoughts on “Gotta hate it when they don’t practice what they preach.

  1. erikamsteele says:

    I agree with you. I don’t think people need to swear on anything. It is superstitious and silly. A person does not need an object to hold them to telling the truth. If they do, they probably aren’t trustworthy anyway. Either a person will tell the truth in court or they won’t. It doesn’t matter which object they swear on.

  2. linnealien says:

    As for the Ten Commandments, I agree with having them up; nobody’s forced into anything with it, it’s just up there, representing a solid, unmovable foundation and anchor.
    As for swearing on the Bible, I’ve thought it was dumb because if you don’t hold it sacred, then how would swearing on it change anything? Heck, even if you DO hold it sacred, your integrity doesn’t change on a whim like that; you’re either going to be honest or you’re not. Taking an oath isn’t going to change that. But it never really occurred to me before that I actually DISAGREE with it. Now that I’m really thinking about it, I DO disagree with it. Why? Here’s why:
    ” ‘Again you have heard that it was said to those of old, “You shall not swear falsely, but shall perform your oaths to the Lord.” But I say to you, do not swear at all: neither by heaven, for it is God’s throne; nor by the earth, for it is His footstool; nor by Jerusalem, for it is the city of the great King. Nor shall you swear by your head, because you cannot make one hair white or black. But let your “Yes” be “Yes,” and your “No,” “No.” For whatever is more than these is from the evil one.'” (Matthew 5:33-37)

    • Great quote! They should be reminded of that. There is still that Christian stigma that has made its way into government and that is why I disagree with the 10 commandments statue. I have nothing against the faith (just the blindness of some of its followers) Nothing religious has its place in the court of law. I even disagree with that atheist bench they put up in protest, though I think the event is funny. The bench’s continued…residence…, if they ever remove the Ten Commandments statue outside the courthouse(s) isn’t okay though. The belief or lack there of should also have no factor in the law. The thing is, “imposing” traces of faith is hypocritical too. We have to accept the ten commandments on the lawn but if something Muslim or Jewish came up there would be a mass protest, especially since most people in the world don’t even bother to understand the religions of others, and because Christians are something like 2/3 of the American population they would get their way. That’s a little one-sided in my mind.

      Now, I would be okay with everyone getting their own little thing…or even one big thing representing all faiths but that wouldn’t exactly go over well. In my mind every faith has a right to be represented there or nothing is.

Leave a Reply

