I was 14 when 9/11 happened.

9/11. I was 14. Lived in Kaneohe, HI.

Basically I found out what happened at 5:00 AM because my mom woke me. I guess someone from the mainland called her. We watched it on the news and I sat in stunned silence for about three minutes then I broke down and started crying; not because I was scared, but because I was angry and seriously felt for all those people and the terror and agony they went through for no good reason.

My mom didn’t let me go to school that day even though she didn’t think anything would happen. So I went with her to work at Kailua Intermediate and listened to all the people panic. A lot of people seemed to think that because of Pearl Harbor we were a “prime target” which even then I thought was ridiculous. A lot of Christians were claiming it was an attack on their religion, which I also thought was ridiculous. 

One kid claimed he liked “watching the planes crash into the buildings” out of annoyance because it was the footage they kept playing over and over. I ripped into him until he looked like he was about to cry from shame…still don’t feel bad about it.

Yeah that was my day. 

That was really the day I feel like I lost my “innocence” with the country. After that everything has gone downhill and here we are, we’ve been at assorted wars for a bit over half my life.

Leave a Reply

