Navy Yard shooter had possible PTSD and alcoholism.

So the Navy Yard shooter was once a hero turned villain. He was a committed rescuer during 9/11 but became disturbed during the events and suffered from PTSD and from there had anger management issues and fell into alcoholism which resulted in violence on occasion. 

I believe that Alexis was untreated for his PTSD, which is very serious and can be dangerous if left untreated. PTSD is something that doesn’t get a lot of attention and is also known as the “invisible wound” or the “invisible monster”. It is something that frequently afflicts soldiers who have seen combat, people who have been in dangerous, life threatening situations and people who have brain injuries, among other things. I believe I also suffer from some form of it because of my epilepsy.

It is dangerous to try to self medicate yourself, particularly with alcohol, which is a depressant. Drunkenness can feel great at first but it eventually takes more and more alcohol to reach that “happy place” and you become addicted and by then it has created even more negative effects. 

I’m not trying to make him out to be anything less or more than what he was. I just want you all to know the seriousness of PTSD and self medicating yourself. If you find yourself doing that get help immediately because you cannot help yourself by engaging in that activity.

8 thoughts on “Navy Yard shooter had possible PTSD and alcoholism.

  1. Things like this are a big part of why I feel like I belong in psychology. I also have PTSD; the result of an abusive relationship many moons ago. Finding a competent counselor or even obtaining adequate mental health insurance coverage can be difficult if not impossible. Sean called the VA several weeks ago (he has depression-like symptoms); they said they would “make a note in his file” and that was it…no call back to schedule an appointment, nothing. I’ve heard similar stories about other government employee health care programs. 😦

    • The government has pretty much always been notoriously bad with health care.My boyfriend’s twin’s ex-husband is an Iraqi vet and even though they are entitled to health care it pretty much doesn’t go deeper than “Oh, you’re depressed? Here are some pills. GTFO”

      That’s how our country treats our finest after they’ve given their all.

      • …and apparently while they’re still in service it’s just, “Quit your whining. You’re not going home.” as reported by one of Sean’s friends who was having mental health concerns while they were both enlisted. >.<

      • These people are so dumb. I get that they need people and to be well disciplined but if you have mental health issues you have mental health issues. It would compromise their stability if they went untreated.

  2. erikamsteele says:

    I completely agree with what you have said. I don’t think people understand what it is like to have PTSD, especially when so much of the literature says it only lasts 6 months to a year. LOL with me.

    • So many studies about the brain appear to be flawed and are constantly being updated and rewritten. You and I both know the 6 month thing is bullshit. I believe that it’s permanent but we eventually learn to live with it.

      Ever since I was diagnosed with epilepsy I’ve been intrigued with the brain, especially since mine happened so randomly. PTSD isn’t something that gets enough attention and it should. It doesn’t get enough trouble because people don’t even understand depression…clinical or genetic…;let alone PTSD. “Why are you depressed?” “I don’t know. I just am. Everything is fine, but I’m depressed” “Eh, well, that’s dumb. Here are some pills” that’s the way depression works and PTSD works in a similar fashion but I feel that it is potentially more dangerous. I believe the majority of all veteran suicides are the result of PTSD, untreated or otherwise.

      • erikamsteele says:

        I agree about the suicide rate amongst veterans. PTSD only gets attention when something negative happens, and then as soon as that bad thing isn’t a hot topic anymore, talk about PTSD goes away.

  3. Pretty much, yeah. I don’t think people in general are educated enough about the brain. People don’t get the difference between having PTSD, depression or anxiety and being ’emo’. They think it’s whining. It’s a small wonder that they commit suicide when they aren’t supported.

Leave a Reply

