Irish-Americans get super happy when they meet one another…

Between my house and the street Nick’s sister lives on is a sandy trail that can be used as a short cut between blocks. While walking said trail I came upon an older gentleman walking this MASSIVE pit bull. I didn’t drop my pace but I stepped off to one side to give them room to walk side-by-side. “Don’t be afraid, he’s friendly,” he said. I stopped, smiled, and said “I’m not afraid.” He stopped too and looked at me, “You’re Irish, right?” “Yes, my family names are from Cork, Tyrone and Donegal.” I replied. His face split into a grin and he said “I’m a Kelly!” “Donnelly” I answered back. We exchanged Erin go braghs and resumed our walks.

2 thoughts on “Irish-Americans get super happy when they meet one another…

  1. Life is sweet that way. 🙂

  2. Filipinos are like that, too. Only when you have a gathering/party is there animosity with regional/class differences. Other than that, it’s all friendly.

Leave a Reply

