“Dude, I fucking raped that boss”

If you think I’m some sort of crazy feminist person for noticing the obvious, fuck off or unfriend me for all I care. You have the right to feel the way you do but please don’t insult me. I can post whatever I want. Many clearly don’t understand ,and I may not change your mind, but maybe someone more important than me to you will and you’ll remember my words.

This isn’t about women being raped, it’s about ANYONE who gets raped and then have to endure this sort of shit while stupid fucktwits get to laugh about an act of pure monstrosity and apply it to a more casual situation.

People saying they “raped” this boss or this player in a video game really sickens me. It’s plain wrong. I have to pretend like I don’t care or a bunch of people will lie to themselves and call me a “crazy feminist bitch” for disliking the word “rape,”…legendary grade morons. So defensive about rape they prove my point for me: They know it’s wrong and do it anyway. Just like rape.

No, no, no you offended peeps, I’m not trying to say that people who talk like this are no better than rapists. No, I’m not saying they support rape. No, I’m not saying they’re waiting for the opportunity to rape someone… so put your guns and pitchforks away and try to separate how you WANT to feel about saying something that might apply to you when you know what is truly right or wrong. Think about OTHER people. ALL I’m saying is that you know a thing to be wrong and they intentionally act that way anyway. They don’t care so long as they aren’t the one being attacked. Twist my words if you want, but that won’t make what I say any less true.

—-Actual Post—-

“Raping someone” is a term frequently used to describe when one completely dominates a player or a boss in combat or some other competitive encounter. “Sore winners” or pretend-to-be-arrogant pussies are the ones that are usually perpetuating the idea that it’s okay to use words that are used to describe on of the vilest things a human being, man or woman can do, and they make the fucking term CASUAL.

Players say this when they’re so much better than something or someone that you completely dominate them at that activity. Dominate. Using a word (rape) to describe forceful penetration of an individual wildly against their will. There is something dark about a person if they think that it’s okay to use that word out of context to describe something so trivial.This is way different from saying “The so-and-so people have been raped of their land and culture”, that analogy fits. Rape is about the TRAUMA. The trauma caused from rape is what destroys lives. Laughing about trauma is fucked up. You know you’d care if someone made fun of what traumatized YOU and demeans you as a person for caring. “Be the change you wish to see in the world”

It’s an apples and oranges sort of thing, but in its own way it’s even more offensive than saying such and such thing is “so gay.” One is trivializing people as individuals, while the one is trivializing sexual violence. Both are extremely important acts to combat, and in so doing inadvertently change the world for the better.

Trivializing sexual violence is something that absolutely horrifies me. Some people might be completely naive about these things, which isn’t as horrible (but definitely not okay) because you have the opportunity to learn and then change on that new understanding, so to me that’s not bad, it’s growing up. It’s the ones that don’t that are the problem. Maybe they think it’s okay to use it, since it’s obviously in a non-literal sense, but that doesn’t mean the word is inseparable from it’s definition. That doesn’t mean the person won’t get a flash back every time they see that word. Do you care about your epic win more than emotional anguish? If so, you’re the monster if you don’t think you need to change. What’s so outdated about kicking ass anyway?

It’s a sad, sad day when it’s okay to say they raped someone/something in pvp/pve (player vs player and player vs environment respectively) in a video game, but if an IRL woman admits that she had ACTUALLY has been raped, she stands a very good chance of being ostracized by both genders…and they’ve gone and made is mainstream slang.

I’d hazard to say that these people may not know someone close, someone they love and respect, that has been sexually assaulted. If you had any compassion for that person you wouldn’t be able to say it so carelessly. You’d think of them immediately. Then you’d feel guilty for trivializing it in such a thoughtless way. There is something seriously wrong with you if you can witness the after effects of the trauma someone has to go through to pick up the pieces of their life and learn to –act– normal again and still act so callous about it.

We live in a world where sexual assault victims of both genders are preyed upon, and then have to live and see a very different life than what you choose to see. That’s right. You choose what you want to see. It’s yet one more boulder heaped onto what is most likely a secret burden because there is a 50-50 chance that no one will believe them. Do you have any idea how that feels? But that’s a topic for a different day.

It’s not something people want to acknowledge happens in virtually every community in the world, past or present.They want less trauma in their own lives and so they make those with actual trauma suffer. It’s selfish. I can’t believe some people vehemently dupe themselves into thinking most rape victims are liars. It’s so horrible to feel alone on top of that.

Instead of thinking about yourself why don’t you think about your fellow Americans for a change? Why don’t you think of then countrymen/women getting sexually assaulted every two minutes instead of describing a video game encounter created for ENTERTAINMENT. No one is going to want to look at this, but here are some official statistics about sexual assault in the USA from semi-recent years. If it depresses you, that’s a good thing and you know what needs to be done. You know we need change.
http://www.rccmsc.org/resources/get-the-facts.aspx **

**As shitty as this page is, I thought “Oh good, the numbers have gotten lower” because of a different site from a few years ago, but that one was most likely outdated or mistaken. This is still really fucking bad though. 1 in 10 is still too much…1 in 100 is still too much…**

Please, if you take anything away from all this, it’s to please, please, please try to not think only of yourself. Think of how that word has more meaning to someone than you. Is your comedic statement more important than someone who has to walk that line? If so, why? Explain to me why you feel that way. Please.

Think about how that would make you feel if the shoe was on the other foot.
Think about how you feel if it was someone you loved was a victim, or even yourself. Mama, papa? Sister brother? Husband, wife? Best friend?

If you tell yourself you wouldn’t care you’re lying to yourself.

—-

If you’re guilty of this and actually feel bad, think of this as a chance to become a better person and to learn to respect yourself and humanity as a whole. Being thoughtless doesn’t mean you’re a shitty person as a whole; just use this is as a chance to enhance yourself. That’s actually a great thing. It’s a great thing and it’s not even difficult. We’re supposed to get wiser with age, remember?

When I was younger I was guilty of saying things that would be offensive in a trivial manner too, and I changed my outlook and it wasn’t even hard. I think a lot of teenagers/young adults do that, (I think most people tend to be more selfish at that age) but I’d like to think more than what I’ve seen grow out of it as they matured. You don’t have to stay the way you were.There is no shame in making the choice to think about your words from now on. You know, I think kids do this out of naivety because they haven’t learned to question why people say the things they do, and adults straight up didn’t think enough about it to care.They both repeat it if it fits.

It was the realization that someone cared a lot deeper than me about something, and respecting that. It wasn’t about me. It would never be about me and I shouldn’t act like it should. Instead of feeling defensive when I realized it applied to me, I understood what needed to be done and did so. I realized that whatever I wanted to say out of casual humor in no way justified a word with an unfortunate unofficial, semi-changed definition to be thrown out the way it has been. Don’t you think they might feel isolated enough?

When I realized that, I felt a deep sense of shame and decided to change. Feeling shame isn’t as bad a thing if you use it constructively instead of getting furious at the person that made you feel that way. Not everything you do is right and that’s true of every single person on the planet. If you can use it as a tool to become a better person then do so. You can change this about yourself if you really want to. Don’t be discouraged.

I put my freedom of speech aside and chose to think about others and honor them as people, and we should try to do that in our everyday lives. This isn’t some Dalai Lama peace and love to all blah blah stuff, it’s common sense to make a better and more cohesive (supportive) community. You don’t have to like someone but you can still show them respect because they are human, and should be treated as such until they prove that they are monsters. Which some will.
—-
You’re free to do and say whatever you want, but please at least TRY to think about how some words mean more to others than yourself before you make your decision to say what you do.

It’s not about having boo-boos on our feelings, it’s really not, it’s something much more significant than that. If you can’t understand that, please try. The world will be a better place if you just TRY and put yourself in the other person’s shoes. All I’m asking you to do is try. Please.

2 thoughts on ““Dude, I fucking raped that boss”

  1. Anybody who’s been raped has far worse than a “boo-boo”. As somebody who, not too many years ago, would have KILLED anyone I caught raping another human being, know that I take this sort of thing with intense seriousness.

  2. linnealien says:

    I’m proud of my husband who, while playing Diablo 3 with some friends, interrupted the game to say, “Can we please stop using that word. I don’t think it’s fair to real victims.” He’s a pretty great guy.

Leave a Reply

