I got called a whore and other personal attacks today and yesterday because of a World of Warcraft shirt. (Horde icon)

14324388_10154541149402302_6679443312053638829_o

Because of wearing this shirt men on a WoW Facebook fan page have called me the following:
•Whore
•Idiot
•Attention whore
•Looks like a man

Over a t-shirt.
Because I’m Horde.
It’s fictional.

I’m honestly unsettled by some of the immediate aggressive comments and I wonder how they treat people in their personal lives, or if they use the monitor anonymity to act out their anger. It has nothing to do with me, so it doesn’t bother me on a personal level…just on a social level. I’m far from the only woman that has had these comments. I won’t be the last.

Notice that when a girl does this more guys jump her shit than girls? Notice that gamer girls are frequently “punished” by expressing themselves as fans?

Honestly, I would have expected it to be the other way around, considering how competitive women can be with each other. Instead they’ve been the most supportive. A lot of guys post their WoW shirts and other fan stuff all the time on this page and no one fucks with them, or at least not as many. I hadn’t planned on turning this fan photo into a feminist issue, but I’ve definitely noticed the difference.

A few weeks ago (on this page) a girl took a selfie of herself in a horde work-out shirt and she was at the gym flexing and guys were calling her a whore. She looked incredible.

On this one post, where you can see nothing of my face or the rest of my body, presumably Alliance players have attacked me on a personal level, and flippantly added in sexism to boot. All without ever speaking to me before. I’ve noticed that sexists say the same thing regarding feminist issues. That we look like men. That we’re stupid. That we’re whores. They said the same thing during women’s suffrage. They said the same thing during the 60s. They say it now. It’s a sexist person’s “go to.”

Over all the Facebook group is awesome and I wouldn’t want to leave it over a few bad eggs.

Areiya.png

For the Horde!

3 thoughts on “I got called a whore and other personal attacks today and yesterday because of a World of Warcraft shirt. (Horde icon)

  1. buddy71 says:

    I would ask you to lunch. 🙂

  2. Men who won’t give women the opportunity to be themselves are, essentially, insecure little jerks. Do your best to ignore them. You are awesome, Saoirse.

  3. benelliman says:

    Wow. Fucking sad ass gamers who are angry they’re single and unapproachable. You do you, boo. Fuck the haters. FOR THE THIRD PARTY.

Leave a Reply

